CITY OF GILLETT COMMON COUNCIL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING Council Chambers – Municipal Building 150 N McKenzie Ave – Gillett, WI 54124

TUESDAY, APRIL 16, 2019 – 6:00 PM MINUTES

Mayor Beaton called the meeting to order at 6:00 PM.

Roll Call

Clerk informs the Council that the Open Meeting Law has been complied with

- Present: Alderpersons Nanette Mohr, Sandy Hubbard, and Marie Blaser
- Also Present: Alderpersons Matthew Stroik, Josh McCarthy, and Debbie Rudie. Mayor James Beaton, Clerk Treasurer Kim Gruetzmacher, Attorney Tim Schmid, Public Works Foreman Shane Rank, Utility Operator Ron Anderson, Interim Police Chief Kevin Schneider. Public Greg Rudie, Debra Rudie, Arl Rudie, Nancy Rudie, and Kevin Rudie.

PUBLIC INPUT: None

DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION ON ANY OR ALL OF THE FOLLOWING:

1. Discussion & possible action on Resolution #1-2019 setting Treasurer's bond, Deputy Treasurer's bond, and Office Staff bond.

MOTION: Mohr/Stroik

Motion to accept **Resolution 1-2019:** BE IT RESOLVED by the Common Council of the City of Gillett that the Treasurerøs Bonds for the City Treasurer, Deputy Treasurer, and Office Staff be set at a minimum of \$50,000 each, to be furnished by a surety company, with the premium to be paid by the City of Gillett **Roll Call Vote:** All voting aye - **MOTION CARRIED**

2. Discussion & possible action on Resolution #2-2019 setting official depositories **MOTION: Stroik/Blaser**

Motion to accept **Resolution 2-2019:** BE IT RESOLVED by the Common Council of the City of Gillett, that the following financial institutions: Flagstar Bank and Peshtigo National Bank, be designated as official depositories of the City of Gillett, and all funds are to be deposited therein. **Voice Vote:** All voting aye - **MOTION CARRIED**

 Discussion & possible action on Resolution #3-2019 setting official newspaper MOTION: Mohr/Stroik Motion to accept Resolution 3-2019: BE IT RESOLVED by the Common Council of the City of Gillett that the following newspaper. Oconto County Times Herald be designated as official newspaper of the

that the following newspaper, Oconto County Times Herald be designated as official newspaper of the City of Gillett.

Voice Vote: All voting aye - MOTION CARRIED

- 4. Election of Council President Blaser nominates Nanette Mohr for Council President and Hubbard seconds. Stroik nominates Josh McCarthy for Council President and Rudie seconds. MOTION: Blaser/McCarthy Motion to close nominations.
 Voice Vote: All voting aye, - MOTION CARRIED Roll Call Vote: Hubbard votes Mohr; Mohr abstains; Blaser votes Mohr; McCarthy abstains; Stroik votes McCarthy; and Rudie votes McCarthy. Mayor breaks ties with vote for McCarthy.
- Discussion & possible action on authorizing official signees for depositories account MOTION: Hubbard/Rudie Motion to have the Mayor James Beaton, Council President Josh McCarthy, Clerk Treasurer Kim

Motion to have the Mayor James Beaton, Council President Josh McCarthy, Clerk Treasurer Kim Gruetzmacher, and Deputy Clerk Treasurer Chelsea Anderson as official signees for depository accounts. Voice Vote: All voting aye - MOTION CARRIED 6. Discussion & possible action on Council Committee Recommendations MOTION: McCarthy/Hubbard

Motion to accept these recommendations as stated.

Voice vote: All voting aye - MOTION CARRIED

The committees were advised on priorities that need to be addressed. Health, Protection & Licensing will be working on the event ordinance, bring housing standards up to date and work on multi-family housing standards. Public works will be working on the road project and start working on Main Street and Hwy 22. Utility will be working on the water & sewer project and planning for Hwy 22/Main Street project in future. Finance and personnel will be working on the employee handbook and vacation time/time off. Parks will be working on possible land reduction and a cemetery columbarium. Planning will be working on the honey park, housing standards, multi-family housing standards, and permitting process.

 Discussion & possible action on appointments to Police & Fire Disciplinary Review Committee MOTION: Mohr/Blaser Motion to approve the Police & Fire Disciplinary Review Committee to include Carol Swim, Michelle Magee, and Tom Wolfgram.

Voice vote: All voting aye - MOTION CARRIED

- Discussion & possible action on appointments to Sexual Predator Committee MOTION: McCarthy/Hubbard Motion to approve Sexual Predator Committee to include Kevin Schneider, Karen Herzog, John Baumgartner, Laura Koenig, and Kevin Magee. Voice vote: All voting aye - MOTION CARRIED
- Discussion & possible action on appointment of Weed Commissioner MOTION: Mohr/Hubbard Motion to appoint Public Works Foreman Shane Rank as Weed Commissioner. Voice vote: All voting aye - MOTION CARRIED
- Discussion & possible action on appointment to Library board MOTION: Hubbard/Blaser Motion to appoint Debbie Rudie to the Library Board. Voice vote: All voting aye - MOTION CARRIED
- 11. Discussion & possible action on appointments to Zoning Board of Appeals
 MOTION: McCarthy/Hubbard
 Motion to approve Zoning Board of Appeals to include Marie Blaser, Steve Vandermause, Ruth Spang, Tom Wolfgram, and Darlene Fleishmann.

 Voice vote: All voting aye MOTION CARRIED
- 12. Discussion & possible action on appointments to Board of Review
 MOTION: Hubbard/Rudie
 Motion to approve Board of Review to include James Beaton, Josh McCarthy, and Kim Gruetzmacher.
 Voice vote: 5 voting aye; McCarthy abstains MOTION CARRIED
- Discussion & possible action on Tourism & Marketing Commission recommendations MOTION: Rudie/Stroik

Motion to approve Tourism & Marketing Commission to include Josh McCarthy, Nanette Mohr, Wendy Vorpahl, Keri Hicks, Jake Steldt, and Jenny Neumann. Voice vote: 4 voting aye, Mohr and McCarthy abstain - MOTION CARRIED 14. Discussion & possible action on Community Development Authority recommendations MOTION: Stroik/Rudie

Motion to approve Community Development Authority to include Debbie Rudie, Josh McCarthy, Jerry Luther, Jake Steldt, Tracy Van Donsel, Keri Hicks, and Ron Lambrecht. Voice vote: 5 voting aye, McCarthy abstains - MOTION CARRIED

- 15. Discussion & possible action on appointments to Ambulance Board MOTION: Mohr/Hubbard Motion to approve Marie Blaser to the Ambulance Board.
 Voice vote: 5 voting aye, Blaser abstains - MOTION CARRIED
- 16. Discussion & possible action on appointments to Utility Committee
 MOTION: Mohr/Blaser
 Motion to approve nominations of Louis Danielson and Ruth Spang for community members for the Utility Committee.
 Voice vote: All voting aye MOTION CARRIED
- 17. Discussion & possible action on appointments to Mayorøs Youth Advisory Board ó Leave Lay Mayor is still looking for advisor for the group.
- Discussion & possible action on other boards, commissions, and/or committees. MOTION: Mohr/Blaser Motion to approve Disaster Plan Committee to include Ron Anderson, Shane Rank, Fire Chief Kurt Hicks, Tracy Ondik and Interim Police Chief Kevin Schneider. Voice vote: all voting aye - MOTION CARRIED
- 19. Adjourned at 6:20 PM.
 MOTION: Mohr/Stroik
 Motion to adjourn.
 Voice vote: all voting aye MOTION CARRIED

Respectfully Submitted, Kim Gruetzmacher, Clerk Treasurer

*A quorum of the Common Council was in attendance of this meeting.