CITY OF GILLETT COMMON COUNCIL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

Council Chambers – Municipal Building 150 N McKenzie Ave – Gillett, WI 54124

TUESDAY, APRIL 21, 2020 – IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING SPECIAL COUNCIIL MEETING MINUTES

Mayor McCarthy called the meeting to order at 11:27 AM

Roll Call

Clerk informs the Council that the Open Meeting Law has been complied with

Present via Zoom/Telephone: Alderpersons Matthew Stroik, and Debbie Rudie

Also Present via Zoom/Telephone: Alderpersons Sandy Hubbard, Nannette Mohr, Marie Blaser, Gary Spaulding, Mayor Josh McCarthy, Clerk Treasurer Kim Gruetzmacher, Public Works Foreman

Shane Rank, Utility Operator Ron Anderson, and Craig Schuh of Ayres & Associates.

PUBLIC INPUT: None

DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION ON ANY OR ALL OF THE FOLLOWING:

1. Discussion & possible action on Resolution #1-2020 setting Treasurer's bond, Deputy Treasurer's bond, and Office Staff bond.

MOTION: Rudie/Stroik

Motion to accept **Resolution 1-2020:** BE IT RESOLVED by the Common Council of the City of Gillett that the Treasurer's Bonds for the City Treasurer, Deputy Treasurer, and Office Staff be set at a minimum of \$50,000 each, to be furnished by a surety company, with the premium to be paid by the City of Gillett **Roll Call Vote:** All voting aye - **MOTION CARRIED**

2. Discussion & possible action on Resolution #2-2020 setting official depositories

MOTION: Stroik/Mohr

Motion to accept **Resolution 2-2020:** BE IT RESOLVED by the Common Council of the City of Gillett, that the following financial institutions: Flagstar Bank, Peshtigo National Bank, and Wisconsin Department of State Trust Funds be designated as official depositories of the City of Gillett, and all funds are to be deposited therein.

Voice Vote: All voting aye - MOTION CARRIED

3. Discussion & possible action on Resolution #3-2020 setting official newspaper

MOTION: Mohr/Blaser

Motion to accept **Resolution 3-2020:** BE IT RESOLVED by the Common Council of the City of Gillett that the following newspaper, Oconto County Times Herald be designated as official newspaper of the City of Gillett.

Voice Vote: All voting aye - MOTION CARRIED

4. Election of Council President

Matthew Stroik nominates himself for Council President and Sandy Hubbard seconds.

MOTION: Blaser/Hubbard *Motion to close nominations.*

Voice Vote: All voting aye, - **MOTION CARRIED**

Roll Call Vote: Hubbard votes aye; Mohr votes aye; Blaser votes aye; Spaulding votes aye, Stroik votes aye; and Rudie votes aye.

5. Discussion & possible action on authorizing official signees for depositories account

MOTION: Hubbard/Mohr

Motion to have the Mayor Josh McCarthy, Council President Matthew Stroik, Clerk Treasurer Kim Gruetzmacher, and Deputy Clerk Treasurer Chelsea Anderson as official signees for depository accounts.

Voice Vote: All voting aye - **MOTION CARRIED**

6. Discussion & possible action on Council Committee Recommendations

MOTION: Hubbard/Mohr

Motion to accept these recommendations as printed. **Voice vote:** All voting aye - **MOTION CARRIED**

7. Discussion & possible action on appointments to Police & Fire Disciplinary Review Committee

MOTION: Hubbard/Blaser

Motion to approve the Police & Fire Disciplinary Review Committee to include Carol Swim, Michelle Magee, and Tom Wolfgram.

Voice vote: All voting aye - MOTION CARRIED

8. Discussion & possible action on appointments to Sexual Predator Committee

MOTION: Stroik/Blaser

Motion to approve Sexual Predator Committee to include Kevin Schneider, Karen Herzog, John Baumgartner, and Kevin Magee.

Voice vote: All voting aye - MOTION CARRIED

9. Discussion & possible action on appointment of Weed Commissioner

MOTION: Mohr/Rudie

Motion to appoint Public Works Foreman Shane Rank as Weed Commissioner.

Voice vote: All voting aye - MOTION CARRIED

10. Discussion & possible action on appointment to Library board

MOTION: Hubbard/Blaser

Motion to appoint Debbie Rudie to the Library Board. Voice vote: All voting aye - MOTION CARRIED

11. Discussion & possible action on appointments to Zoning Board of Appeals

MOTION: Mohr/Rudie

Motion to approve Zoning Board of Appeals to include Marie Blaser, Steve Vandermause, Ruth Spang, Tom Wolfgram, and Darlene Fleishmann.

Voice vote: 5 voting aye, Blaser abstain - MOTION CARRIED

12. Discussion & possible action on appointments to Board of Review

MOTION: Hubbard/Mohr

Motion to approve Board of Review to include Josh McCarthy, Matthew Stroik and Kim Gruetzmacher.

Voice vote: All voting aye - **MOTION CARRIED**

13. Discussion & possible action on Tourism & Marketing Commission recommendations

MOTION: Blaser/Rudie

Motion to approve Tourism & Marketing Commission to include Gary Spaulding, Debbie Rudie, Wendy Vorpahl, and Jake Steldt.

Voice vote: All voting aye - MOTION CARRIED

14. Discussion & possible action on Community Development Authority recommendations

MOTION: Mohr/Hubbard

Motion to approve Community Development Authority to include Gary Spaulding, Debbie Rudie, Jerry Luther, Jake Steldt, and Ron Lambrecht.

Voice vote: All voting aye - **MOTION CARRIED**

15. Discussion & possible action on appointments to Ambulance Board

MOTION: Hubbard/Rudie

Motion to approve Marie Blaser to the Ambulance Board.

Voice vote: 5 voting aye, Blaser abstain - MOTION CARRIED

16. Discussion & possible action on appointments to Utility Committee

MOTION: Mohr/Blaser

Motion to approve nominations of Louis Danielson and Ruth Spang for community members for the Utility Committee.

Voice vote: All voting aye - **MOTION CARRIED**

- 17. Discussion & possible action on appointments to Mayor's Youth Advisory Board Leave Lay Mayor will be making this a priority for the upcoming school year.
- 18. Discussion & possible action on other boards, commissions, and/or committees.

MOTION: Mohr/Stroik

Motion to approve Disaster Plan Committee to include Ron Anderson, Shane Rank, Fire Chief Kurt Hicks, Tracy Ondik and Police Chief Kevin Schneider.

Voice vote: all voting aye - MOTION CARRIED

19. Adjourned at 11:55 AM. **MOTION: Rudie/Blaser**

Motion to adjourn.

Voice vote: all voting aye - **MOTION CARRIED**

Respectfully Submitted, Kim Gruetzmacher, Clerk Treasurer

^{*}A quorum of the Common Council was in attendance of this meeting.