CITY OF GILLETT COMMON COUNCIL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING Council Chambers – Municipal Building 150 N McKenzie Ave – Gillett, WI 54124 TUESDAY, APRIL 15, 2025 – AT 7:00 PM MINUTES

- 1. Acting Mayor Mohr called the meeting to order at 7:00 PM
- Roll Call Clerk informs the Council that the Open Meeting Law has been complied with Present: Mayor Jon Blaskowski, Clerk Treasurer Chelsea Anderson, Alderpersons Nanette Mohr, Jerry Luther, Keri Hicks, David Bunker, Matt Young, and Ashley VanStraten.

3. PUBLIC INPUT: None

4. Discussion & possible action on Resolution #5-2025 setting Treasurer's bond, Deputy Treasurer's bond, and Office Staff bond.

MOTION: Mohr/VanStraten

Motion to approve **Resolution 5-2025:** BE IT RESOLVED by the Common Council of the City of Gillett that the Treasurer's Bonds for the City Treasurer, Deputy Treasurer, and Office Staff be set at a minimum of \$50,000 each, to be furnished by a surety company, with the premium to be paid by the City of Gillett **Roll Call Vote:** All Voting Aye - **MOTION CARRIED**

 Discussion & possible action on Resolution #6-2025 setting official depositories MOTION: VanStraten/Bunker

Motion to approve **Resolution 6-2025:** BE IT RESOLVED by the Common Council of the City of Gillett, that the following financial institutions: Flagstar Bank, Peshtigo National Bank, CoVantage Credit Union and Wisconsin Department of State Trust Funds be designated as official depositories of the City of Gillett, and all funds are to be deposited therein. **Voice Vote:** All Voting Aye - **MOTION CARRIED**

 Discussion & possible action on Resolution #7-2025 setting official newspaper MOTION: Mohr/VanStraten Motion to approve Resolution 7-2025: BE IT RESOLVED by the Common Council of the City of Gillett that the following newspaper, Oconto County Times Herald be designated as official newspaper of the City of Gillett.

Voice Vote: All Voting Aye - MOTION CARRIED

- 7. Election of Council President Young nominates Mohr, Luther Seconds, Close nominations.
 MOTION: Young/Luther Motion for Nanette Mohr to be Council President.
 Voice Vote: All Ayes- Mohr Abstains - MOTION CARRIED
- Discussion & possible action on authorizing official signees for depositories account MOTION: Luther/Hicks Motion to have Mayor Jon Blaskowski, Council President Nanette Mohr, Clerk Treasurer Chelsea Anderson, and Deputy Clerk Treasurer Lisa Anderson as official signees for depository accounts. Roll Call Vote: All Voting Aye -Mohr Abstains- MOTION CARRIED

9. Discussion & possible action on Council Committee Recommendations MOTION: VanStraten/Young

Motion to accept recommendations below: Public Works- Hicks, Luther, Young Finance and Personnel-Mohr, Bunker, VanStraten Health Protection and License- VanStraten, Young, Bunker Utility- Young, Mohr, Hicks Planning- Bunker, Mohr, Luther Parks and Cemetery-Luther, VanStraten, Hicks Voice Vote: All Voting Aye - MOTION CARRIED

10. Discussion & possible action on appointments to Police & Fire Disciplinary Review Committee MOTION: Mohr/Hicks

Motion to approve the Police & Fire Disciplinary Review Committee to include Carol Swim, Michelle Magee, and Tom Wolfgram. Voice Vote: All Voting Aye - MOTION CARRIED

- Discussion & possible action on appointments to Sexual Predator Committee MOTION: Mohr/Bunker Motion to approve Sexual Predator Committee to include Police Chief Shane Breitenbach, Karen Herzog, Kevin Magee, Nicole Blaskowski, and Aaron Smith.
 Voice Vote: All Voting Aye - MOTION CARRIED
- Discussion & possible action on appointment of Weed Commissioner MOTION: Luther/Hicks Motion to appoint Public Works Foreman Nate Anderson. Voice Vote: All Voting Aye - MOTION CARRIED
- Discussion & possible action on appointment to Library board MOTION: Mohr/Luther Motion to appoint Keri Hicks to the Library Board.
 Voice Vote: All Voting Aye, Drake Abstains - MOTION CARRIED
- 14. Discussion & possible action on appointments to Zoning Board of Appeals MOTION: Mohr/VanStraten Motion to approve Zoning Board of Appeals to include Alderperson Jerry Luther, Marie Blaser, Steve Vandermause, Ruth Spang, Tom Wolfgram.
 Voice Vote: All Voting Aye, Luther Abstains - MOTION CARRIED
- 15. Discussion & possible action on appointments to Board of Review MOTION: Hicks/VanStraten Motion to approve Board of Review to include Mayor Jon Blaskowski or designee Jerry Luther, Nanette Mohr, and Clerk Chelsea Anderson or Deputy Clerk Lisa Anderson.
 Voice Vote: All Voting Aye- Mohr- Luther Abstains - MOTION CARRIED
- 16. Discussion & possible action on Tourism & Marketing Commission recommendations MOTION: Young/Hicks

Motion to approve Tourism & Marketing Commission to include Council member Nanette Mohr, Designee Jerry Luther, Chris Byars, Deanna Smith, Marie Blaser, and Lorenzo Diaz. Voice Vote: All Voting Aye, Mohr - Luther Abstains - MOTION CARRIED

- 17. Discussion & possible action on appointments to Ambulance Board MOTION: Mohr/Luther Motion to approve Ashley VanStraten to the Ambulance Board.
 Voice Vote: All Voting Aye - MOTION CARRIED
- Discussion & possible action on appointments to Utility Committee MOTION: Mohr/VanStraten Motion to approve Louis Danielson and Ruth Spang for community members for the Utility Committee. Voice Vote: All Voting Aye - MOTION CARRIED
- 19. Discussion & possible action on appointments to Mayor's Youth Advisory Board Leave lay
- 20. Discussion & possible action on Disaster Plan Committee
 MOTION: Luther/Mohr
 Motion to approve Disaster Plan Committee to include Utility and Public Works Department Head Matt
 Wickman, Public Works Foreman Nate Anderson, Fire Chief Kurt Hicks, Tracy Ondik from Gillett
 Ambulance and Police Chief Shane Breitenbach.
 Voice Vote: All Voting Aye MOTION CARRIED
- 21. Discussion & possible action on other boards, commissions, and/or committees- Leave Lay
- 22. Adjourned at 7:25 PM.
 MOTION: Mohr/Luther
 Motion to adjourn.
 Voice Vote: All Voting Aye MOTION CARRIED

Respectfully Submitted, Chelsea Anderson Clerk Treasurer

*A quorum of the Common Council was in attendance of this meeting.